The Yager House
Located on Aiken Road, the Yager House is one of the most interesting
nineteenth century stone houses existing in Jefferson County. It is a one-and-a-half-story
stone house with a frame ell at the rear. The four-bay facade has two front doors and a
portico with a front gable and plain Tuscan columns span the central bays.
The two front doors are a unique feature in this area and perhaps reflect the German
origins of the builder. Two front doors are often found on houses in areas of Pennsylvania
where Germans settled. The house has two interior stone chimneys at each gable end of the main block. Behind the house,
there is a one-story, v-notched, saddlebag log outbuilding.
The stone house may have been built by Silas Benjamin Yager about 1830-32. The log
house or outbuilding may date from the early 1800's and was possibly built by David
Forsythe or one of his sons, James or David, Jr. The Forsythes owned a portion of the
property as early as 1806. Silas Yager first acquired land on Floyds Fork in the Aiken
Road area in 1830. He continued to buy land for the next 25 years, and much of his land
traces back to tracts owned early by the
Warning: Some Web sites to which these materials provide links for
the convenience of users are not managed by the Jefferson County Public School System.
JCPS takes no responsibility for the contents of those sites. Comments, suggestions, or
error reporting about this page and its links should be sent to the webmaster - currently David Wicks, Louisville, KY.